Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Get to know your new Government Officials

Here is the list of "Noynoy" Aquino Cabinet released yesterday.
Agency, Department or Bureau, Position Designate HeadNotes
(DILG)Dept of Interior and Local Goverment under the president temporarily
Executive secretary Paquito "Jojo" Ochoa Jr
Presidential spokesmanEdwin Lacierda
(DSWD) Dept. of Social Services and Welfare and Development Corazon "Dinky" Soliman
Dept. of FinanceCesar Purisima
Dept. of Education Armin Luistro Former DLSU president
Adviser on Peace Process Teresita Quintos-Deles
Dept. of Foreign Affairs Alberto RomuloRetained, Former Senator and Former Budget minister in C.Aquino's admin.
Department of Justice SecretaryLeila de Lima
DND secretaryVoltaire Gazminformer PA commanding general and PSG chief
(DBM)Budget and ManagementFlorencio AbadFormer Education secretatry
(PMS) Presidential Management StaffJulia AbadFormer Sen. Aquino's Chief of Staff
Dept. of HealthEnrique OnaFormer (NKTI) director
(DOST) Dept. of Science and TechnologyMario Montejofrom UP.Coll. of Engineering
(CHED) Commision on Higher EducationDr. Patricia Licuanan Miriam College president
Department of EnergyJose Rene D. AlmendrasManila Water Co. president
(DOTC)Dept. of Transportation and CommunicationsJose "Ping" de JesusMeralco president, former DPWH secretary
(DPWH Dept. of Public Works and Highways)Rogelio "Babes" L. SingsonMaynilad Water Services Inc. president,former BCA president
(DENR Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources)Ramon PajeDENR undersecretary
Presidential Legal CouncilEduardo de Mesa
(DTI Dept. of Trade and Industry)Gregory DomingoFormer BOI head
(DA Department of Agriculture) Proceso Alcala
(BIR Bureau of Internal Revenue)Kim Jacinto Henares
(DOLE Dept. of Labor and Employment) Rosalinda BaldozFormer POEA head
(NEDA National Economic Development Authority)Cayetano "Dondon" PaderangaU.P. Economics professor
(DT)Dept. of Tourism Alberto LimMakati Business Club Exec. Director

Only the Bureau of Customs and the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) positions remain to be filled up.
Former Chief Justice Hilario Davide will lead a "Truth Commission" which will "collate data on who committed what." We also hope that this commision is given a charter of its mission and scope of its powers. Aquino will handle the Department of Interior and Local Government, pending talks with three nominees for the portfolio.
The new Philippines Chief of Staff will be Maj. Gen. Ric David Armed Forces. and Gen. Jesus Verzosa will remain as Philippine National Police chief.

I hope all of these people have to go through the Commision on Appointments for the necessary background checks(skeletons in the closet) and to present their statement of vision. Let us learn from the U.S. way of government.

No comments:

Post a Comment